Filed Under Missoula
235 South Fourth Street West
Missoula Southside Historic District
Pioneer stockman James L. Goodwin, a resident of Deer Lodge, was the first owner of this home, built circa 1903. Goodwin sold the property to Northern Pacific engineer Harry H. Deering in 1914. The Southside’s association with the railroads is further demonstrated by the third owner, Gilbert Pring, a Northern Pacific dispatcher, who purchased the residence in 1910. The cross-gabled roof with end returns, open porch with Doric columns, and simple drop siding illustrate the excellence achieved with pattern book blueprints. The simple carriage house, added before 1909, enhances the picturesque charm of this attractive, well-maintained home.