This grand structure reflects the prosperous 1880s and the importance of the Masons in the community. Awarded a $250 prize for their design, Helena architects Heinlein and Matthias also won the job of overseeing the building’s construction in 1885. They showcased their abilities with lavish ornamentation in Italian Renaissance-inspired style. The third floor served as Masonic Lodge rooms from 1886 to 1942, and tenants on the lower floors included the U.S. Post Office and the State Publishing Company. In 1979, the original façade was rehabilitated and the tall windows, previously lost to remodeling, were reconstructed.