East Side Historic District
Kalispell stonemason and carpenter Louis Larson was the original owner and likely the builder of this attractive Queen Anne style residence. Constructed circa 1903, stylistic highlights include decorative shinglework, a pedimented porch entry, a canted corner, and multi-paned bay. Interior finishings such as built-in cupboards, shelves, bookcases, and spindled stairwork reveal Larson’s exceptional carpentry skills. He never lived in the home himself but rented out rooms. One of the early tenants was Miss Minnie Folsom, who gave harmony and piano lessons at her studio here in 1904 and 1905. According to the Kalispell Bee, Miss Folsom was a student of the New York Conservatory of Music, “a teacher of considerable experience,” and an “accomplished performer.” John Laux owned the property from 1910 to 1935. During his successful campaign for county commissioner in 1912, the local paper described his as “…a safe man to trust.” Laux’s wife, Katie, painted china as an occupation. Despite many later owners and occupants, the appearance and appeal of this turn-of-the-twentieth-century home remain intact.