When Evelyn and Arnold Graf purchased this property in 1938, the area was still predominantly wild, covered with native grasses and scrub cedar. The roads were mostly unpaved and hayfields and pastures lay to the north. Graf designed and built this house between 1939 and 1940, completing it in his spare time. The family of four lived in the basement while the upper floor was under construction. Arnold Graf had studied architecture in Chicago but the Great Depression interrupted his plans. Returning home to Hardin, he married and survived the 1930s working as a bricklayer on his own and with his father, cutting and laying the stone for the Big Horn courthouse and other projects. Arnold Graf designed his eclectic Tudor Revival English Cottage style home to reflect traditional architectural elements, including a steep-sided roof and half-timbering. He added multi-colored bricks, marble surrounds at the vestibule openings, and stone window sills for visual appeal. Extensive use of glass blocks reveals Graf’s creativity in blending modern materials with traditional elements. Landscaping distinguished with extensive brick accents defines the home’s approach. Throughout the house, fine masonry showcases Graf’s skills and attention to detail. After World War II, Arnold Graf founded Graf Masonry. Prominent Billings architects and contractors quickly recognized his exceptional craftsmanship and integrity. During nearly thirty years in business, Graf’s name was synonymous with masonry buildings in Billings and surrounding areas. The house, under family ownership well into the twenty-first century, retains exceptional integrity. Viewed from the street, this charming and unique home delights the eye.