A beautifully embellished pedimented gable and open porch with spindled balustrade, turned columns, and decorative details highlight this splendid two-and-one-half-story Queen Anne style residence of salmon-colored brick. Mary Schuh, a longtime pioneer homesteader and reputedly the first white woman to settle locally in nearby Cable, owned the property in 1894. The home was built in the mid-1890s. Mary’s daughter and son-in-law, Emma and Frank Nowak, raised their children here and sold the home shortly after Mary’s death in 1918. New cedar roof shingling of the original type and restoration of the unusual handcut metal ridge trim atop the roof return this charming home to its nineteenth-century likeness.