National folk type housing like this one-story gable-front-and-wing style residence of frame with brick veneer gained popularity in the late 1890s and early 1900s. The front porch nestled in the ell is a typically appealing feature of the style while scrollwork on the gable end adds individuality. Flathead Valley pioneer James Proctor built this home in 1895 and likely was its first resident. Proctor, a carpenter by trade and local planing mill owner, had moved elsewhere in Kalispell by 1900. The long succession of Proctor’s tenants included jeweler Philip Jacoby from 1905 to 1907. Jacoby, one of Kalispell’s few Jewish residents, advertised his specialty as mounting elk teeth and claws. Kalispell Mercantile grocery manager James Busey and his wife, Elizabeth, lived here from 1909 to 1911. In 1910, David Barber and his wife lived with them while the Barbers’ house on 5th Avenue East was under construction. Proctor’s long period of ownership ended in 1936 when Ida Chasse purchased the home.