Constructed between 1899 and 1903, this charming American foursquare cottage features a front gable with ornamental shingle work, front windows with decorative muntins, original front door, and decorative scrollwork spanning the front porch. The garage at the rear was built in 1929 with patented steel corners with locks and sidewalls that came assembled without the use of nails. It is of primary significance as the first prefabricated building the Superior Lumber Company of Columbia Falls erected in Kalispell. A growing population demanded housing, and Kalispell businessmen responded by constructing numerous rental homes. The home had a series of early owners and tenants. From 1911 to 1931, the Kalispell Mercantile owned the property. Among the many diverse occupants were John O’Connor, superintendent of the Northern Idaho & Montana Power Company (1905 to 1913), auto mechanic Ralph Pike (1917 to 1928) and Reverend Walter Sandy of the Central Christian Church (1930). Owners carefully refurbished the house in 1999.