An eclectic blend of periods and styles characterizes the historic streetscapes of Kalispell’s East Side. This home is a charming example of a mixed house form with Tudor style details, very fashionable during the 1920s and 1930s. Frank W. Cole drew the blueprints for the residence which he built for himself and his wife, Florence, in 1932. Tudor elements include stuccoed, half-timbered gables and a gabled entry with narrow windows. Inside, hardwood floors and five doorways with graceful Tudor arches lend the home a rich ambience. The distinctive interior doorways include a spacious arch separating the dining and living rooms; another, smaller scale arch in the bathroom defines the area above the bathtub. Frank and his father, Frank G. Cole, established Cole’s Machine Works in 1928 and operated the business together until 1960 when the elder Cole retired. They advertised as “the original manufacturers of barrel stoves and furnaces.” Frank and Florence Cole made their home here until 1975.