Situated between Marcus Daly’s Mountain Consolidated mine and Centerville’s hardscrabble commercial district, the Mullins Street neighborhood evolved from its mining camp roots to working class respectability. Irish immigrant Bridget Lynch lived in this front-gabled vernacular (builder-designed) home beginning in 1890 and boarded Centerville miners. In 1892, she married fellow Irish immigrant William Moylan. Moylan supervised mining operations in the Gem, and later, the Minnie Healy. In 1906, Moylan’s brother James, a “quarrelsome” shift boss at the Gem, was found dead. Although the coroner ruled the death an accident, William later alleged foul play and had his brother’s remains exhumed. Two men were charged in James’ death but were acquitted. Bridget died in 1917, and William sold the home to fellow Irish immigrants Patrick and Nora Leary. Patrick worked as a security guard at the Leonard mine. The Learys' three sons, Edward, Joseph, and Patrick Jr., served overseas in World War II. Patrick Sr. died in 1940 from complications related to silicosis, an affliction common to underground miners. Nora died in 1950 and her son Joseph inherited the house.