Philipsburg Historic District
Two driving forces--the arrival of the railroad in 1887 and the 1890 Sherman Silver Purchase Act--transformed Philipsburg from a sleepy mining camp into one of Montana’s wealthiest silver-producing areas. In 1895, Philipsburg politician Clarence Stevens and wife Clara built this Queen Anne style cottage. It showcases signature elements of the style, including the square turret, sunburst detail, and porch with turned post and spindled frieze. The Stevenses moved to Utah in 1897. The county subsequently took title to the home due to delinquent taxes, later auctioning it to Fred and Pearl Kroger in 1910. Fred served as county treasurer and speculated in mining claims in the district. In 1915, John and Edith Orr purchased the home. John owned a clothing store and Edith served in the Catholic Altar Society. After John died in 1933, Edith and son John remained in residence. In 1936, Edith married miner Jake Polich. Jake later owned the Club Bar with Arthur Taylor and Edith was active in Philipsburg social events. Jake died in 1958, and Edith lived here until 1979.