John and Juda Summers began married life in a log cabin near this site in 1878. The couple worked hard raising cattle and eventually owned more than 1,000 acres and 1,500 head of cattle. Copper King Marcus Daly purchased most of their land in 1894. The Bitterroot pioneers started over in 1904 with the purchase of 160 acres. Summers built this gracious Colonial Revival style home and developed a highly successful diversified farming operation. In 1907, the yield was 22,000 bushels of oats, the largest crop ever produced by one farm in the Bitterroot Valley. Failing health forced John Summers to sell the home in 1911. New owners Otto and Helena Quast further diversified the farm, adding a herd of 150 Holstein dairy cows. After his father’s death in 1931, Otto Jr., took over the farm and by 1957 it was “one of the finest diversified farms in the valley, consisting of 660 acres devoted to raising cattle, beets, and grain.” Upon Otto Quast’s retirement in 1971, the house and farm were sold separately. Today, the marvelous home is a treasured reminder of the early importance of agriculture in the Bitterroot Valley and the pioneers who made it successful. John Summers expressed his prominence with this imposing residence, yet its elegant simplicity reflects the prudence that assured his financial security. Seasoned landscaping, an inviting veranda, and commodious rooms today inspire visitors to experience another era.